This is the list of Red Bull Rampage Riders was the first to publish this article. Join Outside+ to receive access to more of their premium content in addition to your Outside subscription.

The 15 competitors accepted to this year’s Red Bull Rampage event, the premier big-mountain freeride competition in mountain biking, include six previous Rampage winners and two novices. In honour of the competition’s 20th anniversary, the world’s greatest riders will descend on a brand-new location in southern Utah. On Friday, August 20 at 9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET, tickets for the event will go on sale to the general public at

“It’s wonderful to see Red Bull Rampage return this year after a short sabbatical, especially because it’s the 20th anniversary,” said Brandon Semenuk, the defending Red Bull Rampage winner. “While we were unable to participate in the 2020 race, I know that myself and the other riders are looking forward to returning to Utah. A new location brings more opportunities for inventiveness, but it also involves a major construction project to get our lines ready for the finals. Getting the shovels in the dirt is something I’m looking forward to.

Photo: Peter Morning/Red Bull Content Pool

The top ten riders from last year’s event were automatically pre-qualified, while the remaining five wildcards and five alternates were chosen by a committee of past Rampage participants, pro athletes, judges, and industry experts based on competition results and video submissions.

“Being accepted to Red Bull Rampage for the first time is an incredible honour,” Jaxson Riddle said. “I’m ready to compete on the sport’s largest stage. I grew up just a few miles down the road watching this competition, so being able to participate among my heroes will be a great accomplishment.”

All invited athletes must confirm their attendance by September 27, after which anyone who cancels or is unable to come will be replaced by an event alternate, and the competition roster will be finalised.

Athletes invited to the Red Bull Rampage in 2021

Pre-Qualified Athletes:

  •  Brendan Fairclough GBR, Brendan Fairclough GBR, Brenda
  • Godziek, Szymon POL
  • Tyler McCaul of the United States of America
  • Ethan Nell of the United States of America
  • Brett Rheeder IS CAPABLE
  • Brandon Semenuk IS CAPABLE.
  • Ben Storch (United States)
  • Kyle Strait, United States of America
  • FRA Vincent Tupin
  • Tom Van Steenbergen is a well-known actor. CAN

Invitations with a twist:

  • ES-CT Andreu Lacondeguy
  • Riddle, Jaxson USA
  • Sorge, Kurt CAN
  • NORWAY’S Brage Vestavik
  • Cam Zink of the United States of America

Alternatives include:

  • Theodore Genon BEL
  • Eli Johansson, Swede
  • RD Boggs USA
  • Brandt, DJ, USA
  • Theodore Bizet FRA

Red Bull Rampage held its inaugural event in 2001, and since then, 14 different races have taken place with nine different winners. As part of the contest’s 20th anniversary, Rampage will highlight some of the best moments and stories from over the years, as well as the progress, tricks, and technology that have shaped the contest over time.

The competition format remains the same, with riders carving their ultimate lines into the sides of near-vertical sandstone ridges with the assistance of their two-person build crews. During the four days preceding the competition, riders and their support crew will build lines, take a rest, then practice four days. There will only be one champion at the 2021 Red Bull Rampage, where all the preparation will culminate in an epic desert showdown.

Leave a Comment